Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6
Herbert H. Bateman State Senate Records
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 83 B31
Scope and Contents
Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...
Dates:
1968-1982
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
A. Willis Robertson Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 66 R54
Scope and Contents
This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1921-1967, of A. Willis Robertson, U. S. Congressman and Senator from Virginia. Chiefly his senatorial office files, 1946-1966. Robertson was a conservative Democrat, serving at the same time as Harry F. Byrd, Sr. Subjects in the collection include national defense, agriculture, taxation, banking, government employees, the Moral...
Dates:
1921-1971, 1988; Majority of material found in 1946-1966
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Booth Taliaferro Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates:
1811-1954
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Munford Tuck Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 68 T79
Scope and Contents
This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1918-1968, of William Munford Tuck, Democrat, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Virginia State Senate, lieutenant-governor, governor, and congressman. Tuck's law practice files and his correspondence, 1950-1953, are arranged alphabetically. His congressional file is arranged alphabetically and the legislation files are arranged by session...
Dates:
1918-1968
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
United States Federal Nineteenth Century Government Publications
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.204
Scope and Contents
Government publications printed by the U.S Government Printing Office (GPO) and others from the 1820s-1890s. The formats include legislation, annual reports, histories, speeches, resolutions, reports, rebuttals and more. Topics include abolition of slavery, Mexican War, information and reports about the Civil War, Army register for 1858, annual reports for railroads and banks, historical paper on Christ Church in Norfolk, Virginia (1878), Governor Pierpoint's address to "People of...
Dates:
1826-1878
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Timothy E. Wetmore Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.143
Scope and Contents
This collection includes letters, addresses, compositions, and other material pertaining to Timothy E. Wetmore, a teacher and labor union activist in Wilson, New York. Although the bulk of the material is of a personal nature, there is also material related to the founding of Chapter 67 of the Mechanics' Mutual Protection Association in Wilson, New York, which was founded by Wetmore. Some of the topics discussed in the letters include politics and Henry Clay, local life in and around Wilson,...
Dates:
1840-1850
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center